Free Download

Linux Lite 5.0

Linux Lite 5.0 64bit - 1st June, 2020

This is the first release in Series 5.x See below for more information.

  • UEFI/LEGACY ISO: linux-lite-5.0-64bit.iso
  • MD5SUM: 21c7b2aa0eaf7ae60e3c14b491d7e408
  • SHA256: abba007adf5420bd3845dad7b43052a40874f31394d142ea740cc8f27aeec538
  • SIZE: 1.4GB - DVD/USB
  • LIVE USER: Login to the live desktop is automatic
  • BASE: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
  • More info

REQUIREMENTS

    MINIMUM RECOMMENDED SPECIFICATIONS:

  • CPU: 1Ghz processor
  • RAM: 768mb ram
  • STORAGE: 8gb
  • RESOLUTION: VGA screen 1024x768 resolution
  • MEDIA: DVD drive or USB port for the ISO image

  • PREFERRED SPECIFICATIONS:

  • CPU: 1.5GHz processor
  • RAM: 1024mb ram
  • STORAGE: 20gb
  • RESOLUTION: VGA, DVI or HDMI screen 1366x768
  • MEDIA: DVD drive or USB port for the ISO image

INFORMATION

Standard package list and more details here.

Check out our hardware database here.

How do I put Linux Lite on a DVD or USB? Click here.

How do I download with BitTorrent? Click here.

Download BitTorrent for Windows or Mac here. Linux users here.


BUY MEDIA

Get a personalized copy of Linux Lite on DVD or USB.

Want a personalised DVD or a stylish USB key with Linux Lite already loaded? Click here to visit our Secure Online Shop and choose from a range of products. Thank you for your support.

SUPPORT US ON PATREON

Patreon Linux Lite

UEFI/Secure Boot

In Windows Search, type msinfo or msinfo32 and launch the desktop app named System Information. Look for the BIOS Mode item, and if the value for it is UEFI, then you have the UEFI firmware. If it says BIOS Mode Legacy, then that’s the firmware you’re running. Also, in general, UEFI-enabled machines have faster startup and shutdown times as compared to BIOS-Legacy machines. If you bought the computer/motherboard after 2010, chances are you have a UEFI system. If you are still unsure, download the UEFI version as it will also detect and run on a BIOS-Legacy computer.

It is highly recommended that you turn off Secure Boot or you will have a far less enjoyable computing experience. To disable Secure Boot, see here.


windows uefi

RELEASE ANNOUNCEMENT

Linux Lite 5.0 Final is now available for download and installation with full UEFI support. This is the most feature rich, complete Linux Lite release to date. This is the release many people have been waiting for. Linux Lite makes the transition to a linux based operating system by offering a full, Microsoft compatible Office suite, familiar software like Firefox, Chrome, Teamviewer, VLC as well as full system back up tools, a comprehensive - easy to follow Help Manual to guide you on your journey, Steam so you can keep playing your Windows games and so much more familiar software. Our Desktop is laid out just like it is in Windows with a Start Menu to the left and a tray to the right with Volume, Network and Calendar options. See below for What's New.


Read the full announcement here.

COMMON SOFTWARE

Web Browser - Firefox 76.0.1

Email Client - Thunderbird 68.8.0

Office Suite - LibreOffice 6.4.3.2

Media Player - VLC 3.0.9

Image Editor - Gimp 2.10.18

System Backup and Restore - Timeshift 20.03

File Manager - Thunar 1.8.14

Base: 20.04

Kernel: 5.4.0-33 (custom kernels are also available via our Repository for versions 3.13 - 5.7)

Series: 5.x


DESKTOP UI

Window Theme: Adapta

Icon Theme: Papirus

Font: Roboto Regular


WHAT'S NEW

UEFI is now supported

GUFW has been replaced by the highly configurable FirewallD

Integrity Check during live boot

No hidden telemetry

HiDPI - 4 x Settings

New Updater notifier

Mousepad replaces Leafpad

Paint now added to Accessories

XFCE Screensaver included

Zim replaces unsupported CherryTree as the note taker in Lite Software

Google Chrome has been added to Lite Software

NitroShare has been added to Lite Software

Lite Welcome (shortcuts now work) and Lite User Manager now updated to GTK3 and Python3

New Logout options

OEM installer for retailers and manufacturers (Legacy and UEFI)

Firewall status added to Lite Widget

Language choice included on Login screen

Dual architecture support

New Wallpapers

All Lite applications updated to new code base

Minor bug fixes and improvements


CURRENT RELEASE

If you are writing the ISO to a USB on Windows, Mac or Linux, you need use Etcher - https://www.balena.io/etcher/ We only support Etcher as it has shown to be the most reliable in our testing.

Linux or Mac command line:


sudo dd if=linux-lite-5.0-64bit.iso of=/dev/sdx bs=4M

Yumi, Multiboot and other multi-boot applications are not supported. If you do use unsupported third party software to burn Linux Lite to a USB, try logging in with ubuntu as the username and password, or just as the username, no password.

If the screen locks during Live mode, type linux or one of the above usernames into the user box and click on the Login button (no password required)

Linux Lite 5.0 64bit - 1st June, 2020

FILENAME: linux-lite-5.0-64bit.iso

SIZE: 1.4GB - DVD, USB

MD5SUM: 21c7b2aa0eaf7ae60e3c14b491d7e408

SHA256: abba007adf5420bd3845dad7b43052a40874f31394d142ea740cc8f27aeec538

HTTP MIRRORS: Click here

TORRENT HASH: d3b3735500e7ee77dab3fcc3144498176fdde951

LIVE USER: Login to the live desktop is automatic


DOWNLOAD 64bit

TORRENT LINK

DOWNLOAD TIP

Need a great download tip? Here's one straight from the developers.

Consider popping in a small donation. This will really help us get closer to our goal of being 100% community funded. Thank you.

(You do not need a PayPal account, you can use your Credit Card to tip.)

tip_250

tip_500

tip_1000

tip_2000

tip_custom

For a range of donate options, check out our Donate page.

HOW TO INSTALL LINUX LITE



MD5SUM CHECKER

When your download has finished, drag and drop the ISO or click on the box below to navigate to your downloaded ISO.

Then check it against the MD5SUM for your ISO just above.

Your file will not be uploaded. instead, we use some clever pixie dust to do the magic.


Drop File Here

32bit ISO

There will be no 32bit ISO from Series 4.x onwards. If you still need to run a 32bit operating system, our Series 3.x is supported until April, 2021. Download it from here.

PREVIOUS VERSIONS




UPGRADING

To upgrade from within a Series, click on Menu, Favorites, Install Updates (you must reboot if prompted to) then Menu, Settings, Lite Upgrade.

There is no upgrade path to or from RC releases.

There is no upgrade path from Series to Series.


RELEASE TIMES

Linux Lite releases are announced and ready 12AM New Zealand Time on the 1st of that months release date.

Other time zones:


Australia, Perth - 8PM (31st)

Brazil - Rio de Janeiro - 9AM (31st)

Canada - Montreal - 8AM (31st)

China - Beijing - 7PM (31st)

Finland, Helsinki - 1PM (31st)

France, Paris - 2PM (31st)

India, Mumbai - 5.30PM (31st)

Israel, Tel Aviv - 3PM (31st)

Japan, Tokyo - 9PM (31st)

Kuwait, Kuwait City - 3PM (31st)

Australia, Sydney - 10PM (31st)

Pakistan, Lahore - 5PM (31st)

Russia, Moscow - 3PM (31st)

South Africa, Cape Town - 2PM (31st)

Spain, Madrid - 2PM (31st)

United Kingdom, London - 1PM (31st)

United Arab Emirates, Dubai - 4PM (31st)

USA, New York - 8AM (31st)


ROADMAP

The release schedule for Linux Lite.


Linux Lite 5.8 Release - 1st February 2022 (End of Support April 2025)

Linux Lite 5.6 Release - 1st September 2021

Linux Lite 5.4 Release - 1st April 2021

Linux Lite 5.2 Release - 1st November 2020

Linux Lite 5.0 Release - 1st June 2020

Linux Lite 4.8 Release - 14th January 2020 (End of Support April 2023)

Linux Lite 4.6 Release - 1st September 2019

Linux Lite 4.4 Release - 1st April 2019

Linux Lite 4.2 Release - 1st November 2018

Linux Lite 4.0 'Diamond' Release - 1st June 2018

Linux Lite 3.8 Release - 1st February 2018 (End of Support April 2021)

Linux Lite 3.6 Release - 1st September 2017

Linux Lite 3.4 Release - 1st April 2017

Linux Lite 3.2 Release - 1st November 2016

Linux Lite 3.0 'Citrine' Release - 1st June 2016

Linux Lite 2.8 Release - 1st December, 2014 (End of Support April 2019)

Linux Lite 2.6 Release - 1st April, 2015

Linux Lite 2.4 Release - 1st September, 2015

Linux Lite 2.2 Release - 1st February, 2016

Linux Lite 2.0 'Beryl' Release - 1st June, 2014




Social Media Links