« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2017, 05:30:42 PM »

crazysquirrel

• New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

• CPU: core2duo 1.8ghz

• MEMORY: 2Gb

• VIDEO CARD: gt9400
Sophos was rated higher than Eset but it may only be an on demand type. They claims it works all the time but I do not see it working.

For manual scans, Sophos. For background, use Eset if it has a gui and works in the background. Sophos is command line ONLY.
Wife made me afraid of squirrels. She said I was a NUT? Go figure...

Re: Antivirus needed?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2017, 06:31:00 AM »

m654321

• Gold Level Poster
  • Linux Lite Member, 'Advocate' & Donator
    • View Profile

• CPU: Intel Pentium [email protected] (2cores) on an Asus X71Q

• MEMORY: 4Gb

• VIDEO CARD: Intel GM45 Express Chipset

• Kernel: 4.x
I've been using the proprietry ESET antivirus for Linux, since 2014, on almost all setups (see signature). I also use the ESET for Windows version on my dualboot setup.

How useful is it? That's a good question...

What I find it is good for, is promptly alerting me about risky websites while surfing the net, including potentially unsafe downloads - it seems to do it's job there. Apparently, all AV software wont detect malware that comes associated with apps, which I think is the majority of malware on a PC.

Why did I start using ESET?  Earlier, back in 2014/15, I experienced a malware attack on LL (which I reported on the LL forum) in a dualboot setup with Win8.1.  Since then I use ESET for both Linux & Windows OS. Also, I'd imagine if most servers worldwide are based on Unix, and therefore are potential targets for malware or hacking, then it follows that Linux (descended from Unix) might be vulnerable to..? However, some argue that buying AVs is a waste of money and is merely a tickbox exercise and rokytnji in the previous post seems to express a similar view.