You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

Dell D430

Author (Read 6413 times)

Re: Dell D430
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2014, 12:55:40 PM »

pelouk

• Occasional Poster
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
rokytnji, you make me feel like the complete noob that I am!!

Linux Lite is my first venture into the world of "Goodbye Windows! and it's great to be able to get help from folks like yourself.

And, that tip on:- "......Look around for a broke laptop (screen busted) but internal specs are SSD.
That is how I got the Apple SSD for 5 bucks."
.  Well, that would just never have occurred to me. I'm off to have a browse around fleabay.

« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2014, 02:14:22 PM »

rokytnji

• Friganeer
  • Platinum Level Poster
    • View Profile

• CPU: Intel Core2 Duo U9600

• MEMORY: 4Gb

• VIDEO CARD: Intel Mobile 4
Might think about swapping out the existing 80Gb HDD for a SSD

I did that on the Dell XT2, Compaq CQ57, and my 2 M&A companion netbooks.
Best purchase I ever made. Boots fast. Runs fast. Just one example from one of my single core Atom Netbooks.

http://forum.salixos.org/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=6131

That is with a Slackware based distro though.  I run Linux-Lite on the Compaq CQ57 also that is dual core, 4gig ram, 180 gig Apple SSD>(came out of a Apple laptop)

I'll give you a hint if you want when looking for a SSD. Look around for a broke laptop (screen busted) but internal specs are SSD.
That is how I got the Apple SSD for 5 bucks.
LL 3.6,2.8
Dell XT2 > Touchscreen Laptop
Dell 755 > Desktop
Acer 150 > Desktop
I am who I am. Your approval is not needed.

« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2014, 01:47:42 PM »

pelouk

• Occasional Poster
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile