You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section



Only 3840 x 2160 and 0.0Hz appears in Display settings menu in Linux Lite 2.4

Author (Read 5176 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

 

firenice03

  • Rockin' the FREE World
  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 1848
    Posts
  • Reputation: 284
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

  • CPU: AMD E2//Atom X5//AMD Phenom II X2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: AMD Mullin Radeon R2//Intel//AMD/ATI RS880

  • Kernel: 5.x
Ok looked at the X11 file..

/etc/X11/xorg.conf
Open via terminal or right click open as admin...
Code: [Select]
sudo leafpad /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Under the Section "Monitor" heading is where you add the resolution..
Example:
Code: [Select]
modeline  "1280x1024@60" 83.46 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
Similarly add to Section "Screen"
Code: [Select]
       Modes          "1400x1120@60"    "1280x1024@60"    "1024x768@60"   

Below is my file - substitute as needed:

Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
  Identifier "Generic Video Card"
    VendorName  "Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]"
        BoardName   "771/671 PCIE VGA Display Adapter"
    Busid "PCI:1:0:0"
    Driver "vesa"
    Screen 0
        Option "UseFBDev" "true"
        Option "DPMS"
        Option "ShadowFB"
        Option "MaxXFBMem"
        VideoRam 262016
        Option "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "backingstore" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"

EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
    Vendorname    "Generic LCD Display"
    Modelname    "LCD Panel 1280x800"
    HorizSync 20-107
        VertRefresh 50-185
  modeline  "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
  modeline  "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1024x768@60" 80.14 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 795 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1024x768@60" 74.48 1280 1336 1472 1664 720 721 724 746 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1024x768@60" 83.46 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1280x1024@60" 80.14 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 795 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1280x1024@60" 83.46 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1400x1120@86" 80.14 1400 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 795 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1400x1050@60" 83.46 14001280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1680x1200@60" 80.14 1680 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 795 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1680x1200@60" 83.46 1680 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
    Gamma    1.0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Default Screen"
    Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
    Device        "Configured Video Device"
    Defaultdepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth    24
        Virtual    1280    1024
        Modes          "1400x1120@60"    "1280x1024@60"    "1024x768@60"    "1024x768@60"     "800x600@60"    "1024x768@60"     "800x600@56"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load "dri"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
    Load "GLcore"
    Load "i2c"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "int10"
    Load "vbe"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "record"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode 0666
EndSection

This has worked for my stuff maybe this will be useful..???..
LL4.8 UEFI 64 bit ASUS E402W - AMD E2 (Quad) 1.5Ghz  - 4GB - AMD Mullins Radeon R2
LL5.8 UEFI 64 bit Test UEFI Kangaroo (Mobile Desktop) - Atom X5-Z8500 1.44Ghz - 2GB - Intel HD Graphics
LL4.8 64 bit HP 6005- AMD Phenom II X2 - 8GB - AMD/ATI RS880 (HD4200)
LL3.8 32 bit Dell Inspiron Mini - Atom N270 1.6Ghz - 1GB - Intel Mobile 945GSE Express  -- Shelved
BACK LL5.8 64 bit Dell Optiplex 160 (Thin) - Atom 230 1.6Ghz - 4GB-SiS 771/671 PCIE VGA - Print Server
Running Linux Lite since LL2.2
 

 

firenice03

  • Rockin' the FREE World
  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 1848
    Posts
  • Reputation: 284
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

  • CPU: AMD E2//Atom X5//AMD Phenom II X2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: AMD Mullin Radeon R2//Intel//AMD/ATI RS880

  • Kernel: 5.x
Something to try... *On one of my LL boxes I had to add the resolution...
I believe there is an X11 file that can be modified to support other resolutions - I'd have to check that system (which is not by me) for the correct additions..

Another way I was able to set the resolution (forcing it to specific)
Was to modify grub.. /etc/default/grub
*Make a back up just in case* If using file manager(Thunar) copy & paste or terminal..
Code: [Select]
cp /etc/default/grub /etc/default/grub.bak
Edit grub file - Thunar=right click open as admin  Terminal=vi/nano preferred editor...

Look for the line (uncomment if necessary)
Code: [Select]
GRUB_GFXMODE="1366x768" or if commented
Code: [Select]
GRUB_GFXMODE="640x480"Modify to preferred:
Code: [Select]
GRUB_GFXMODE="1920x1080"
Save file then in terminal
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub
I'll double check the X11 settings when I get home this eve..
LL4.8 UEFI 64 bit ASUS E402W - AMD E2 (Quad) 1.5Ghz  - 4GB - AMD Mullins Radeon R2
LL5.8 UEFI 64 bit Test UEFI Kangaroo (Mobile Desktop) - Atom X5-Z8500 1.44Ghz - 2GB - Intel HD Graphics
LL4.8 64 bit HP 6005- AMD Phenom II X2 - 8GB - AMD/ATI RS880 (HD4200)
LL3.8 32 bit Dell Inspiron Mini - Atom N270 1.6Ghz - 1GB - Intel Mobile 945GSE Express  -- Shelved
BACK LL5.8 64 bit Dell Optiplex 160 (Thin) - Atom 230 1.6Ghz - 4GB-SiS 771/671 PCIE VGA - Print Server
Running Linux Lite since LL2.2
 

 

torreydale

  • PayPal Supporter
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 1588
    Posts
  • Reputation: 261
  • * Forum Moderator *
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Intel i5-3230M (4) @ 3.200GHz

  • MEMORY: 16Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics

  • Kernel: 5.x
Things were working to your liking before.  Do you recall what changes were made just before you lost this capability?

I don't think you answered my other question "What other driver options, if any, are available when using the Additional Drivers utility?"
Want to thank me?  Click my [Thank] link.
 

 

Netuzist

  • New to Forums
  • *
  • 9
    Posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Intel Core i3 4010U 1.4 GHZ

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel HD Graphics 4400
Hi Torreydale;

You asked: "I know you're on version 2.4.  You wouldn't happen to have installed Systemback, would you?  If so, do you have a restore point you can revert to?"

My reply:  No I haven't installed systemback because as you now know i'm on version 2.4.

You asked: "What video card do you have?  Can you upload the result to running the following in a terminal?: inxi -F" 

My reply:

Code: [Select]
:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host: Modded Chromebox-Panther Kernel: 3.13.0-77-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Ubuntu 14.04 trusty
Machine:   Mobo: Google model: Panther version: 1.0 Bios: coreboot version: MattDevo date: 06/17/2015
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-4010U CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1701.00 MHz 2: 1701.00 MHz 3: 1701.00 MHz 4: 1701.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller X.Org: 1.15.1 driver: fbdev Resolution: [email protected]
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.8, 256 bits) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.3.0-devel (git-c95d5c5 2016-02-24 trusty-oibaf-ppa)
Audio:     Card-1: Intel Lynx Point-LP HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: k3.13.0-77-generic
           Card-2: Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9462 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 54:27:1e:b2:b8:86
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: c4:54:44:69:4f:4a
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 16.0GB (49.3% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: SanDisk_SSD_U110 size: 16.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 12G used: 7.4G (67%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.05GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 62.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 186 Uptime: 30 min Memory: 1169.9/3894.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17

You asked: "If you haven't installed Systemback, have you tried booting to a Linux Lite Live CD (version 2.4 and up) to see what resolution options you get?" 

My reply: Yes I tried the live usb and got all the available resolutions for my Samsung 4k UHDTV, from 720 x 400 to 4096 x 2160.  The best resolution for my eyes as far as text and icons are concerned is 1920 x 1080 @ 60.00Hz.  Go to the display settings menu in your installed Linux Lite on your machine and you'll see all of the available resolutions for your monitor.  In installed Linux Lite I don't have resolutions 720 x 400 to 4096 x 2160 anymore and as seen by the terminal output above, the max I'm getting is 3840 x 2160@ 0.0 above.  That resolution is incorrect because in the LL 2.4 live usb the same resolution reads 3840 x [email protected] whose refresh rate I can increase to 30Hz.

As far as the suggestion in this thread to go to Settings>Appearance>Fonts, I did that I increased the custom dpi font size from 96 to 157  and that made the fonts and icons bigger but that still didn't solve my problem. If I wanted to play 4k content on my TV I wouldn't be able to see it in 4096 x 2160 resolution because the max I get in installed LL 2.4 is 3040 x 2160@ 0.0Hz.

You asked: "How much trouble at this point would it be to reinstall LL version 2.4 or above, get things running the way you want again, and then create a restore point using Systemback?

My reply: That wouldn't be too much of a hassle but I'd rather try and solve my problem the more challenging way. I did a little further investigating torreydale and i discovered that many tv models when connected to a linux machine produce bad EDID data and so need custom mode lines.  These modelines can be obtained by a program known as xrandr, then they're registered, then tested out and later registered in the Xorg.conf file.  Now as you may or may not know the Xorg.conf file doesn't exist in modern Ubuntu based distros such as this one.

The Xorg.conf file is where all of the display tv edid data is supposed to be stored, however it's not in LL 2.4 nor do I think is in LL 2.6 nor LL 2.8 nor will it ever be in LL 3.0.  The reason for that is because it doesn't need one however, the xorg.conf file should have been included in this distro since LL version 1.0.4 and revised over time by the developers because that would have perhaps prevented the resolution problem that I'm having in the first place.   



« Last Edit: April 26, 2016, 03:33:45 AM by Netuzist »
 

 

torreydale

  • PayPal Supporter
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 1588
    Posts
  • Reputation: 261
  • * Forum Moderator *
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Intel i5-3230M (4) @ 3.200GHz

  • MEMORY: 16Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics

  • Kernel: 5.x
I know you're on version 2.4.  You wouldn't happen to have installed Systemback, would you?  If so, do you have a restore point you can revert to?

What other driver options, if any, are available when using the Additional Drivers utility?

What video card do you have?  Can you upload the result to running the following in a terminal?:
Code: [Select]
inxi -F
If you haven't installed Systemback, have you tried booting to a Linux Lite Live CD (version 2.4 and up) to see what resolution options you get? 

How much trouble at this point would it be to reinstall LL version 2.4 or above, get things running the way you want again, and then create a restore point using Systemback?
Want to thank me?  Click my [Thank] link.
 

 

Netuzist

  • New to Forums
  • *
  • 9
    Posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Intel Core i3 4010U 1.4 GHZ

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel HD Graphics 4400
Have you looked at the video drivers section of the manual?  (Menu > Favorites > Help Manual)

I looked at the manual but that didn't help me either.
 

 

torreydale

  • PayPal Supporter
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 1588
    Posts
  • Reputation: 261
  • * Forum Moderator *
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Intel i5-3230M (4) @ 3.200GHz

  • MEMORY: 16Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics

  • Kernel: 5.x
Have you looked at the video drivers section of the manual?  (Menu > Favorites > Help Manual)
Want to thank me?  Click my [Thank] link.
 

 

avj

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 530
    Posts
  • Reputation: 110
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Dual core Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz

  • MEMORY: 2Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: AMD/ATI RC410 Radeon Xpress 200/1100
I don't know how to get you more choices of resolution, but you may want to consider changing the DPI setting and Desktop icon size.

DPI setting can be found at Menu>Settings>Appearance at the bottom of the Fonts tab, this will allow you to enlarge the font.

Desktop icon size can be found by right clicking on the desktop and selecting Desktop Settings from the on screen menu. You then click on the Icons tab and you will see where Icon size can be adjusted.
“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” - Thomas Edison
 

 

Netuzist

  • New to Forums
  • *
  • 9
    Posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

  • CPU: Intel Core i3 4010U 1.4 GHZ

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel HD Graphics 4400
Hi there folks,

A while back I updated several packages pertaining to Linux Lite installed in my modified chromebox with the i915 installed as active driver.  Time passed then I bought a Samsung Un50JU7100 UHDTV and now when I go to the display settings menu to lower the screen resolution because text and icons are tiny I can't because all the other screen resolutions are gone. What I would like is to restore this feature just like it was when I first installed Linux Lite 2.4 on this machine so that I can choose any screen resolution just as in the live usb.  If this is possible, please let me know if not just tell me why ?  Thanks in advance.  :)
« Last Edit: September 20, 2016, 01:00:35 AM by Jerry »
 

 

-->
X Close Ad

Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section