Linux Lite Forums

Hardware - Support => Video Cards => Topic started by: stormvisions on November 09, 2018, 11:39:27 AM

Title: 1440x900 resolution with Radeon HD 4200 card / VG1930wm Monitor
Post by: stormvisions on November 09, 2018, 11:39:27 AM
Raw noob here. No experience with Linux. Decided to try Linux on an old Dell OptiPlex 580 to see if I could use it to run some CAD programs for a small desktop CNC mill I just picked up.

There is a Radeon HD 4200 video card on this, and I have a VG1930wm monitor whose native resolution is 1440x900 which resolution was available on Windows. Right now the highest resolution available is 1024x768. I spent a few hours trying to sort out what to do but figured I'd save myself additional pain and ask. What would be the easiest way for me to allow this resolution given I have about 3 hours total Linux lifetime experience (and I'm older than dirt so don't want to drop dead before I sort it out)?

Your help appreciated.
Title: Re: 1440x900 resolution with Radeon HD 4200 card / VG1930wm Monitor
Post by: firenice03 on November 09, 2018, 06:46:18 PM

Out of the box - not much for it

Its a bit older.. But it can be used and at a higher res..
https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/release-announcements/linux-lite-2-0-beta-released/msg1919/#msg1919 (https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/release-announcements/linux-lite-2-0-beta-released/msg1919/#msg1919)
https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/release-announcements/linux-lite-3-2-final-released/msg27530/#msg27530 (https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/release-announcements/linux-lite-3-2-final-released/msg27530/#msg27530)

The link just above is one of mine where I have a 4200..
I was able to set a higher res by modifying the "xorg.conf" file

Path: /etc/X11/xorg.conf -- Open with Admin Rights (Rt Click) or launch from terminal
Code: [Select]
sudo leafpad /etc/X11/xorg.conf
or from within terminal
Code: [Select]
sudo nano/etc/X11/xorg.conf
The below is a copy of my xorg.conf --- Note the Selection "Monitor" and  Section "Screen" sections.
*Notice I have REM marks "#" these are not used in my file, but may work for you.
You'll want to test as my resolutions/refresh rates/syncs may not match your monitor.

Also, setting a non supported resolution can/will render an unusable output. You would need to recover from a TTY session
Where CTRL+ALT+F1 will open a tty1 session and CTRL+ALT+F7 will return.
In TTY access file '#" the invalid line, save and 'reboot'.
Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
  Identifier "Configured Video Device"
  Driver "radeon"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
    Vendorname    "Generic LCD Display"
    Modelname    "LCD Panel 1280x1024"
    HorizSync 20-107
        VertRefresh 50-185
  modeline  "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
  modeline  "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1024x768@60" 80.14 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 795 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1024x768@60" 74.48 1280 1336 1472 1664 720 721 724 746 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1024x768@60" 83.46 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1280x1024@60" 60 80.14 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1280x1024@75" 83.46 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1280x1024@86" 80.14 1400 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 -hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1280x1024@75" 135.0 1280 1296 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
  modeline  "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1400x1050@60" 83.46 14001280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1680x1200@60" 80.14 1680 1280 1344 1480 1680 768 769 772 795 -hsync +vsync
#  modeline  "1680x1200@60" 83.46 1680 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync
    Gamma    1.0
EndSection


Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Default Screen"
    Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
    Device        "Configured Video Device"
    Defaultdepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth    24
        Virtual    1280    1024
        Modes          "1400x1120@60"    "1280x1024@86"    "1280x1024@60"    "1024x768@60"    "1024x768@60"     "800x600@60"    "1024x768@60"     "800x600@56"
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Might be worth a shot...
Title: Re: 1440x900 resolution with Radeon HD 4200 card / VG1930wm Monitor
Post by: stormvisions on November 09, 2018, 07:14:22 PM
Thanks very much. I will give it a try after work.

By the way I can work with the resolution the way for general use but since I'll be designing stuff and everything is a bit stretched I assume that 'stretching' will also distort the view in the CAD and other drawing programs.
Title: Re: 1440x900 resolution with Radeon HD 4200 card / VG1930wm Monitor
Post by: stormvisions on November 10, 2018, 12:52:20 AM
Just wanted to thank you. That pointed me in the right direction. Using your sample I searched for modeline settings online that matched and then was able to add that line and remove the stuff that didn't belong. I had to use the monitor horizontal/vertical screen adjustments to tweak it the final few pixels as I didn't know what those modeline settings meant and didn't want to twiddle with them. Looks like I am good to go.
Title: Re: 1440x900 resolution with Radeon HD 4200 card / VG1930wm Monitor
Post by: firenice03 on November 10, 2018, 09:29:15 AM
Good to hear @stormvisions  :D :D


If you havent yet, making a backup would be a good idea.
In LL3.x its SystemBack and in 4.x its Time Shift..
Kind of similar to windows restore point, but better  ;D
Title: Re: 1440x900 resolution with Radeon HD 4200 card / VG1930wm Monitor
Post by: stormvisions on November 10, 2018, 03:46:43 PM
Will do - thanks again.