You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

A few thoughts on 6.0

Author (Read 56949 times)

Re: A few thoughts on 6.0
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2022, 08:42:28 AM »

Şerban S.

• Şerban
  • PayPal Supporter
  • I come here a lot
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
    • Forum

• CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-4790

• MEMORY: 16Gb

• VIDEO CARD: Intel® HD Graphics 4600 + NVidia GK107 (GeForce GT630 OEM)

• Kernel: 5.x
LOL it does probably take too long in Synaptic if you're used to the terminal anyway.

"Used to"?! I nearly hate it! That's why I wrote the above script! Do it once, use it many! :D :D :D

But Linux Lite is for people who are either not accustomed to the terminal or people like me who are scared to death of the dreaded ▄︻デȶɛʀʍɨռǟʟ═══━一.

I love that! :D
Being "accustomed" with the terminal NOW? Assuming that I was a network manager, OK, I give you that. But I'm a "home user". I never bothered even to test drive a home network!
...Well, I did it once, long time ago, when I bought Win 200 Pro. And this was that!
So, why bother now?
Theoretically, many things are available now, under (any) Linux. Still... Jerry says:
"If it works, why change?"
And I agree with that! (Am I a dinosaur? Maybe...)

I just "know" that mistyping a single character in a command can ignite the atmosphere and destroy all life on Earth. It's one of the reasons I use Linux Lite!

That's the main reason why I avoid it! There is a workaround though: an ASCII (.txt) file. Then Copy/Paste into terminal. But still... :(

It's funny, now. I didn't like it when Linux Lite shipped with added PPAs and I said so in this forum. Now here I am eating those words, recommending pre-installed PPAs for some apps. Mainly because I'm one of those anti-Google guys that despises Google Chrome and other Google features that I consider "spyware."

Well, you can change the script above, something like that:

Code: [Select]