You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

Issues I have come across thus far installing and using Linux Lite as a new user

Author (Read 5921 times)

Jerry

• Linux Lite Creator
  • Administrator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
    • Linux Lite OS

• CPU: Intel Core i9-10850K CPU @ 3.60GHz

• MEMORY: 32Gb

• VIDEO CARD: nVidia GeForce GTX 1650

• Kernel: 5.x
Further to this, I will set Python3 as the default in 5.6 going forward.

To set:

Code: [Select]
sudo update-alternatives --install /usr/bin/python python /usr/bin/python3 10

Jerry

• Linux Lite Creator
  • Administrator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
    • Linux Lite OS

First off, hello. I am new to Linux Lite but not new to Linux in general. This post is my first and is aimed at bringing attention to little issues I have spotted during multiple installations of and the use of Linux Lite. I might alter this post if/when I find other issues or have other suggestions.

* (issue/oversight?) There is no "python" command, only python2. Scripts looking for "python" fail due to this. One example is youtube-dl.

Older Pythons are no longer in use (known by those who use linux regularly) People use 'python3' now.

* (suggestion) ffmpeg is not install by default. Using youtube-dl as another example, it needs it.

We need to be very careful about what we include. It's too easy to spill over in size with every suggestion we get and avoid becoming 'Linux Heavy'. Each program must meet several criteria including mass appeal. ffmpeg is not required by most who use LL.

* (issue/usability) The grub boot menu after you hit "e" to edit is very difficult to impossible to read due to the feather logo. Redoing the boot design might be a good idea for usability.

We'll see if more people report about this.