Linux Lite Forums

General => Security & Bug Fixes => Topic started by: TuxInAGalaxy on July 06, 2018, 02:36:44 PM

Title: Pensor on Linux Lite 4.0 doesn't work correctly
Post by: TuxInAGalaxy on July 06, 2018, 02:36:44 PM
After Pensor is loaded you should be able to click on the icon located on the panel and it should pull up your Temperature readings.  Instead of it doing that it brings up the entire monitor.  Which isn't terrible, but it isn't right.  Because I use that little icon to give me a quick glimpse of what my current cpu temps are.
Title: Re: Psensor on Linux Lite 4.0 doesn't work correctly
Post by: Mart on July 07, 2018, 09:55:59 AM
Hi TuxInAGalaxy

I believe that the loss of functionality is an Ubuntu 18.04 and GTK issue. For example, the GTK Theme Configuration tool is no longer available in 18.04, and the xfce panel Notification Plugin bricks the Psensor functionality (none of Linux Lite’s fault, of course).  I think these are the reasons for the issues you are experiencing.

Haven't been able to find much about this issue specifically, but found this posting which seems to echo the same problem -

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1051270/psensor-not-showing-sensor-data-in-label-in-xubuntu-18-04

Perhaps someone with more technical knowledge could clarify the 'GTK' and 'xfce panel Notification Plugin' issues in 18.04 and why they affect Psensor..

Title: Re: Psensor on Linux Lite 4.0 doesn't work correctly
Post by: Mart on July 07, 2018, 01:31:06 PM
Update:-

TuxInAGalaxy

I did a little more digging and found out that Psensor is described as a 'GTK application'. I believe GTK theming is not currently fully supported in Ubuntu 18.04, so this may be why there is a loss of functionality regarding Psensor in LL 4.0.

Again, if anyone with more knowledge could provided more info about this that would be very helpful.
Title: Re: Pensor on Linux Lite 4.0 doesn't work correctly
Post by: DeepThought on July 07, 2018, 01:54:06 PM
@TuxInAGalaxy 

I'm not that knowledgeable on Psensor, but have you tried starting it from the command line in a terminal.
Any errors should show up in the terminal and might help diagnose the cause of the problem.
You could then copy 'n' paste the output here for others to help :)