You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

permission denied while backing up from install drive start-up

Author (Read 3064 times)

Re: permission denied while backing up from install drive start-up
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2020, 08:53:49 AM »

betwixt

• total newbie
  • New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

• CPU: N270

• MEMORY: 1Gb

• VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA Corporation G86M
P.P.S. Sorry...

In case the hangup at the login screen from my previous post is a partial hard drive failure, I'm at least trying to back everything up because I haven't done that in a while. But the external drive I'm trying to back up to is actually the hard drive from an old Toshiba laptop that I don't use anymore, and I'm wondering if I should try to put it into my current computer, a Thinkpad T61, to replace the potentially partially failing hard drive. Any thoughts about that are also welcome. I found this article which looks useful for that, but I'm not clear which way I should go with this: https://www.howtogeek.com/442101/how-to-move-your-linux-home-directory-to-another-hard-drive/
Arbor

Re: permission denied while backing up from install drive start-up
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2020, 08:45:18 AM »

betwixt

• total newbie
  • New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

P.S. the aforementioned "linux" directory is at /media/linux and my home directory is, according to file manager, in directory with a long complicated name consisting of a bunch of numbers and letters, but copying the directory location manually into terminal only returns a "no such" error.
Arbor

permission denied while backing up from install drive start-up
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2020, 08:35:36 AM »

betwixt

• total newbie
  • New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile