You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

Won't boot into desktop after idiot (me) changed something

Author (Read 6793 times)

Re: Won't boot into desktop after idiot (me) changed something
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2019, 11:59:14 AM »

MS

• I come here a lot
    • View Profile

• Kernel: 4.x
Glad you did not have to reinstall the system, it is always annoying and apart from that, I have had no idea how to help you out accessing bash in the case given - maybe others here around would - so yeah, I am a noob as well, do not feel ashamed to ask qustions, maybe one blind trying to help the other will not lead to falling into a massive black hole.

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2019, 11:50:49 AM »

acanning

• New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
Thankfully I was able to restore my system using the following solution a helpful user had posted....

"Luckily, I was able to fix it by going bash .. with CTRL+ALT+F2, then logging in, going sudo su, and removing the modifications proposed.."

I think I'll stop messing with things I don't understand now  ::)

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2019, 11:47:43 AM »

MS

• I come here a lot
    • View Profile

• Kernel: 4.x
I use likewise solution, only for Intel display, with the difference of having the "TearFree" option marked "true", instead of "on". Perhaps though the system does read both setups as same. Otherwise than that, in my case, it works, though the "TearFree" does bring some extra burden on the performance.

Won't boot into desktop after idiot (me) changed something
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2019, 11:36:02 AM »

acanning

• New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
Hello All

I’ve been an idiot and messed up my Linux Lite installation. I was attempting to reduce a screen tearing issue and, after googling, typed in these commands;

sudo apt-get install mesa-utils
sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/