Linux Lite Forums

General => On Topic => Topic started by: then00b on June 21, 2016, 09:43:55 AM

Title: Tips
Post by: then00b on June 21, 2016, 09:43:55 AM
Hey! Can you guys give me some tips how to make my Linuxlite much faster and lighter? Thanks!
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: Coastie on June 21, 2016, 06:41:12 PM
Boot up is a lot faster than 2.8. I don't know if it is 3.0 or because I am using 64 instead of 32 bit now.  8)

I had been using 32 before because I started with 32 bit on and older computer and did not know if my 32 bit files would be open if I changed to 64.  :-[
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: aus9 on June 22, 2016, 12:38:07 AM
Hi

Quote
Can you guys give me some tips how to make my Linuxlite much faster and lighter?

It might help if you reveal some of your hardware specs?

Try opening a terminal as the local user and posting the contents of this command pls?
Code: [Select]
inxi -FIf you are paranoid you can delete your mac info showing at network?

2)  What software do you run normally?

3) When running software are you experencing any stutters ....shutdowns etc?

4)  The amount of software does impact on your RAM and your CPU %
so if you don't need do printing or don't use a piece of software and your specs are low, I could advise which to remove or disable the daemon.

Bear in mind that as the guru has already replied here, he may not be too happy with any insunation that I might think that I know more than him....cos I don't.

Never the less if your system specs turn out bad....as a local user run a terminal command of
Code: [Select]
htop and take a screenshot with your main regular software still running

---but don't post it yet as others may not like my attitude?

cheers
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: m654321 on June 25, 2016, 10:53:42 AM
Quote
Hey! Can you guys give me some tips how to make my Linuxlite much faster and lighter?

Hi ThenOOb,
I can give you an effective tip (one that I've used) for reducing or extending boot-up time to whatever duration you want. In the terminal type the following...

Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/default/grub Change GRUB_TIMEOUT=10 to GRUB_TIMEOUT=2. This will change the boot time to 2 seconds. I prefer not to put '0 seconds' here, as you will loose the privilege to change between OS and recovery options. However if you do use a value of 0 seconds you can always change this in the terminal later if you want, so no harm done.  Once you have changed the grub configuration, save the configuration file, then use the following command to make the change count:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grubRegards
Mike

PS. You may need to install gedit as, if I remember correctly, this app is not included in the LL iso file package. You have the choice of using either 'Install Software' (=synaptic package manager) which you'll find under Favourites in the Menu, or using the terminal enter the following code:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install gedit
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: LL-user on June 25, 2016, 06:18:44 PM
Just in addition to Mike's tip.

The GRUB_TIMEOUT functionality could be misunderstood. It is not determining the duration of the boot process itself.
It tells GRUB to boot the default entry this many seconds after the menu is displayed, unless a key is pressed. Meaning, it tells GRUB when to start the boot process.

To solve dependency issues you could also use
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install

Hope that helps :)
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: m654321 on June 26, 2016, 02:28:52 AM
Quote
Just in addition to Mike's tip.....

Thanks for adding that detail LL-user

Mike ;)
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: m654321 on June 27, 2016, 04:30:53 AM
Hi then00b,

Another tip that I've used, and you might try, to improve the running of your setup, is to reduce the swappiness of your hard drive.  This may well have been described elsewhere on the forum.  If you have a solid state drive then this does not apply.

Using your terminal, type the following:
Code: [Select]
sudo leafpad /etc/sysctl.conf- the configuration file will open
- add the following lines at the bottom of that file:

Code: [Select]
#
# Swappiness
vm.swappiness=10

After rebooting the swappiness is set from the default value of 60 to a value of 10. This can be checked by running the following command:
Code: [Select]
sudo cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
The swap tendency can have a value from 0 (fully off) to 100 (the swap file is constantly used and so may slow your PC).

A workable and practical rule for changing the swappiness value can be:
1 GB or more of RAM: 10
Less than 1GB of RAM: 1

Regards
Mike
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: N4RPS on June 27, 2016, 08:26:18 AM
Hello!

Boot up is a lot faster than 2.8. I don't know if it is 3.0 or because I am using 64 instead of 32 bit now.  8)


Both. As for installing gedit,

Code: [Select]
sudo leafpad /etc/default/grub
will also get 'er done, and is already a part of LL. Just remember the

Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub
afterwards...

73 DE N4RPS
Rob
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: JmaCWQ on June 27, 2016, 05:43:19 PM
http://askubuntu.com/questions/184217/why-most-people-recommend-to-reduce-swappiness-to-10-20 (http://askubuntu.com/questions/184217/why-most-people-recommend-to-reduce-swappiness-to-10-20)

I would advise reading the info at that link before messing with swappiness, I've found on a system with only 1GB of RAM it made absolutely ZERO difference to performance in normal circumstances and when the system was under heavy load it actually made performance worse, most likely because the point at which it swapped to free up some memory cache had changed.

From the article:
 If you reduce the swappiness, you let the amount of cache memory shrink a little bit more than it would otherwise, even when it may really be useful.  You therefore risk slowing down your computer in general, because there is less cache, while memory is being taken up by applications that aren't even using it.

But each to their own, your machine your decision  8)
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: m654321 on June 28, 2016, 02:53:55 AM
Hi then00b,
as Rob pointed out, you don't need to install the text editor 'gedit' as the 'leafpad' text editor already comes with LL.  I copied & pasted this tip from my notes, from the days when I used Zorin OS which comes with 'gedit' ...

Mike
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: then00b on June 28, 2016, 05:10:43 AM
(http://)
Hi

Quote
Can you guys give me some tips how to make my Linuxlite much faster and lighter?

It might help if you reveal some of your hardware specs?

Try opening a terminal as the local user and posting the contents of this command pls?
Code: [Select]
inxi -FIf you are paranoid you can delete your mac info showing at network?

2)  What software do you run normally?

3) When running software are you experencing any stutters ....shutdowns etc?

4)  The amount of software does impact on your RAM and your CPU %
so if you don't need do printing or don't use a piece of software and your specs are low, I could advise which to remove or disable the daemon.

Bear in mind that as the guru has already replied here, he may not be too happy with any insunation that I might think that I know more than him....cos I don't.

Never the less if your system specs turn out bad....as a local user run a terminal command of
Code: [Select]
htop and take a screenshot with your main regular software still running

---but don't post it yet as others may not like my attitude?

cheers


(http://i.imgur.com/lYUyGHK.jpg?1)
https://postimg.org/image/xbjnbhaox/
I only use my laptop for studying(browsing only).
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: then00b on June 28, 2016, 05:20:48 AM
(http://i.imgur.com/kwRbOOf.png?1)
https://postimg.org/image/6bn7s6qiv/

I also experience this when I enter "sudo apt-get upgrade" any solutions for this? Thanks everyone! :)
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: torreydale on June 28, 2016, 09:02:42 AM
then00b,

I cannot see your images.  Please use imgur and the BBcode when posting images to the forum.  Refer to the following link:
https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/introductions/forum-posting-guidelines/
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: m654321 on June 28, 2016, 12:00:59 PM
Quote
then00b,
I cannot see your images.  Please use imgur and the BBcode when posting images to the forum.  Refer to the following link:
https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/introductions/forum-posting-guidelines/ (https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/introductions/forum-posting-guidelines/)

torreydale,
I am able to view then00b's images without any prob, i.e. those posted in replies #10 & #11 - no problem this end

Mike
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: Jerry on June 28, 2016, 12:38:31 PM
@Mike, torreydale is right to point out the preferred guidelines for posting content. Those images are too small as they are. Cheers.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Tips
Post by: aus9 on June 28, 2016, 08:18:01 PM
Ahh  I think there is an issue with locales.

Let me report an issue elsewhere and hide in shame if I am wrong as I may be wrong.

Whether I am right or wrong here is my report
https://www.linuxliteos.com/forums/other/possible-bug-with-locales-64-bit-3-0/
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: m654321 on June 29, 2016, 04:22:29 AM
Quote
@Mike, torreydale is right to point out the preferred guidelines for posting content. Those images are too small as they are. Cheers.
Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

Of course, I totally agree re. guidelines: I was just a bit confused as then00b's images, in #10 & 11, take up around a quarter of my Asus G750's 17" screen, and are easily readable  :-[ , without any adjustment to screen resolution.  Maybe it's just my PC.

Mike
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: aus9 on June 29, 2016, 10:06:23 AM
then00b

Have you changed your mirrors as per the help docs?

Did you attempt to use the menu -> settings -> Language   to change your locale or language?
If so, can you provide your actual country you live in, the lang of your keyboard and the language you prefer LL to be in.

More importantly what did you do to get that horrible pink screen for locales?

cheers
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: torreydale on June 29, 2016, 11:32:05 AM
I can't see some of the images during the day.  From my personal PCs, I can.  Nevertheless, the forum guidelines are the best way to go.
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: then00b on June 30, 2016, 05:02:56 AM
then00b

Have you changed your mirrors as per the help docs?

Did you attempt to use the menu -> settings -> Language   to change your locale or language?
If so, can you provide your actual country you live in, the lang of your keyboard and the language you prefer LL to be in.

More importantly what did you do to get that horrible pink screen for locales?

cheers

Is it the language support? I forgot what I did on the locales =/ I live in the Philippines.
Title: Re: Tips
Post by: then00b on July 02, 2016, 12:16:37 PM
Up.