You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

my first try making a distro

Author (Read 22729 times)

Re: my first try making a distro
« Reply #58 on: February 18, 2018, 01:20:26 AM »

bitsnpcs

• Platinum Level Poster
    • View Profile
    • Try to Grow

• Kernel: 4.x
XFCE was the only Linux desktop I had used, and the only distro daily use was Linux Lite.

I deliberately didn't choose XFCE for the build, as I don't want anyone to think I am trying to be cheeky to Linux Lite.
Also by choosing another desktop environment it means I have no advance knowledge of how it should/could look, how other distros that use that do look, as I have not looked at these, and so on.
It means I can just play around with it freely.
As I built it up from the base files on the command line it meant I used the command line a lot for things new to me, and also that I used the command line for far longer time periods.
It was my first time to use the root tty line without using the terminal console, too.

Also have used the terminal and also pluma and gedit for editing of many files I had never looked at before on Linux, and didn't understand, I had to try and work it out by trial and error, sometimes I was able to find wiki info, but often I didn't even know what search terms to use in Google.
Even the tiny edits were very big things to learn, or do, due to this way of trying to learn it.

It is a good way to learn and not ruin my everyday used Linux Lite distro.

I hope it is fun/interesting for others to see, or gives them some ideas in their projects, and for what they like to do in their Linux Lite desktop or installed software. :)