You are Here:
Linux Lite 4.6 Final has been released. See the Release Announcements section for more information.



Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system

Author (Read 381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« on: August 20, 2019, 05:10:14 PM »
 

minesheep

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 72
    Posts
  • Country: fi
  • Reputation: 7
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 4.6 64bit

  • MEMORY: 4Gb
Is there any way to run=emulate 64bit OS on 32bit only hardware fast enough to boot it up. I know that it is extremely slow, but is it possible in any way to emulate 64bit OS faster by removing parts of it/making the emulation itself faster.
 


Re: Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2019, 07:24:00 PM »
 

firenice03

  • Rockin' the FREE World
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • **********
  • 1127
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 222
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 4.6 64bit

  • CPU: AMD E2//Atom X5//AMD Phenom II X2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: AMD Mullin Radeon R2//Intel//AMD/ATI RS880
64 on 32 hardware -- doesn't run..
32 on 64 hardware will...


Usually if trying 64 on 32 it'll error...
LL 4.6 UEFI 64 bit ASUS E402W - AMD E2 (Quad) 1.5Ghz  - 4GB - AMD Mullins Radeon R2
LL 4.6 64 bit HP 6005- AMD Phenom II X2 - 8GB - AMD/ATI RS880 (HD4200)
LL 4.4 UEFI 64 bit Test UEFI Kangaroo (Mobile Desktop) - Atom X5-Z8500 1.44Ghz - 2GB - Intel HD Graphics
LL 3.8 32 bit Dell Inspiron Mini - Atom N270 1.6Ghz - 1GB - Intel Mobile 945GSE Express
RETIRED LL 2.8 64 bit Dell Optiplex 160 (Thin) - Atom 230 1.6Ghz - 4GB-SiS 771/671 PCIE VGA
Running Linux Lite since LL2.2
 

Re: Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2019, 08:16:48 PM »
 

trinidad

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 994
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 178
  • Linux Lite Member
    • dbts-analytics.com

  • Linux Lite: 4.4 64bit

  • CPU: AMD A8 5500 4 cores

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7560D
Not so much these days. There was an era around 10 to 15 years ago when some 32bit cpus had enough muscle for 64bit hardware emulation but 64bit systems were much smaller than these days and often this was only used for 64bit applications development. Only a hobbyist or computer historian would want to deal with it anymore and I'm not sure there is even any usable 32bit hardware emulation software around anymore.

TC
All opinions expressed and all advice given by Trinidad Cruz on this forum are his responsibility alone and do not necessarily reflect the views or methods of the developers of Linux Lite. He is a citizen of the United States where it is acceptable to occasionally be uninformed and inept as long as you pay your taxes.
 

Re: Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2019, 11:33:37 AM »
 

The Repairman

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 51
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 6

  • Linux Lite: 3.6 64bit

  • CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000 (2600 MHz)

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA G72 [GeForce 7300 LE]
What kind of computer do you have brand and model and system specs would help.
I've installed 64 bit OSs on computers that came from the manufacture with 32 bit OSs installed providing they have enough memory 4.0 GB or more and a processor that can run 64 bit OSs.

 

Re: Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2019, 12:42:14 PM »
 

newtusmaximus

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 646
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 67
  • Paypal Supporter.

  • Linux Lite: 3.6 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core duo 6300 1.86GHz

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Intel 82Q963/Q965
Suggest you run LL 2.8 32 bit - Had that working on my old Toshiba A10 1GB RAM.      Post details on the machine you wish to use.Running Debian 9 + non free  32 bit on my Fuju V3405 with 2 GB RAM
Last Edit: August 22, 2019, 12:44:59 PM by newtusmaximus
2006 - HP DC7700p ultraslim Desktop Intel 6300 cpu  4GB Ram LL3.6 64bit.
2007 - Fujitsu Siemens V3405 Laptop  2 GB Ram LL3.6 32bit. Now 32bit Debian 9 + nonfree.
2006 - Fujitsu Siemens Si1520 Laptop Intel T720 cpu 3GB Ram LL4.6 64bit
2003 - RETIRED Toshiba Satellite Pro A10 1 GB RAM LL2.8 32bit
 

Re: Is there any way to emulate 64bit OS on 32bit system faster
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2019, 04:39:44 PM »
 

minesheep

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 72
    Posts
  • Country: fi
  • Reputation: 7
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 4.6 64bit

  • MEMORY: 4Gb
Specs https://www.cnet.com/products/hp-nc4200/specs/
CPU Intel pentium M 1,73GHz 32bit only
RAM upgraded to 2GB

I know that it is not possible to run 64bit OS on this natively, but it is possible to emulate it with qemu. but is it possible to remove some parts of linux lite image or make it run faster because now it seems to kill itself because it thinks that is is stuck (not a fact only seems to).
First I get the boot screen but when I try to boot up it first take all possible cpu power for few minutes and the black screen and 10% cpu usage on host system.
Trying with command
Code: [Select]
qemu-system-x86_64 -m 600 -cdrom linux-lite-4.2-64bit.isoAlso why is  this happening sometimes in qemu window
I know that it will never run well. but because I want to learn emulation I try the impossible things. Because otherwise I couldn't learn anything about them
 

Re: Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2019, 04:49:01 PM »
 

minesheep

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 72
    Posts
  • Country: fi
  • Reputation: 7
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 4.6 64bit

  • MEMORY: 4Gb
would installed system on qemu hdd format use less cpu when booting up? If so I could install it on another computer and then move the qemu image to this computer. Also forget to say that I had already boot up once with LL 3.2 64bit but it was only once with no any other software running. I want to make this work at least 20% more stable if possible and it would be enough for me.
 

Re: Is there any way to run 64bit OS on 32bit system
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2019, 05:51:24 PM »
 

firenice03

  • Rockin' the FREE World
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • **********
  • 1127
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 222
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 4.6 64bit

  • CPU: AMD E2//Atom X5//AMD Phenom II X2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: AMD Mullin Radeon R2//Intel//AMD/ATI RS880
would installed system on qemu hdd format use less cpu when booting up? If so I could install it on another computer and then move the qemu image to this computer. Also forget to say that I had already boot up once with LL 3.2 64bit but it was only once with no any other software running. I want to make this work at least 20% more stable if possible and it would be enough for me.


KVM/quem.. Is more virtualization vs emulation.. kinda like VMWare/Virtual box..

What can you tweak to make it run... Not sure..

Can you move it - yes...
Do an XML dump (virsh) of the VM (qcow?)...    virsh dumpxml sysname > /path/sysname.xml
move it to where you want..
Do a define from the XML which has pointers for the qcow2  visrh define /path/sysname.xml

I use a similar method for cloning,
I typically clone my image with virt-clone prior - cloning needs additional tweaking but the above should allow moving.

LL 4.6 UEFI 64 bit ASUS E402W - AMD E2 (Quad) 1.5Ghz  - 4GB - AMD Mullins Radeon R2
LL 4.6 64 bit HP 6005- AMD Phenom II X2 - 8GB - AMD/ATI RS880 (HD4200)
LL 4.4 UEFI 64 bit Test UEFI Kangaroo (Mobile Desktop) - Atom X5-Z8500 1.44Ghz - 2GB - Intel HD Graphics
LL 3.8 32 bit Dell Inspiron Mini - Atom N270 1.6Ghz - 1GB - Intel Mobile 945GSE Express
RETIRED LL 2.8 64 bit Dell Optiplex 160 (Thin) - Atom 230 1.6Ghz - 4GB-SiS 771/671 PCIE VGA
Running Linux Lite since LL2.2
 


Tags:
 


Linux Lite 4.6 Final has been released. See the Release Announcements section for more information.