You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

Advocating Linux to windows users - what to improve ?

Author (Read 2559 times)

Re: Advocating Linux to windows users - what to improve ?
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2021, 12:56:08 PM »

MCReaves

• New to Forums
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile

• CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q9400

• MEMORY: 8Gb

• VIDEO CARD: AMD Radeon RX 550 4GB
I'm new to Linux Lite, but I installed MX Linux on a coworkers laptop because they were so frustrated with Windows being "so dang slow", and I suggested Linux. They so far are loving it. If I had known about Linux Lite at the time, I probably would have chosen to install it to their laptop instead as they are a typical Windows user who has never touched anything outside of basic computer use.

Windows is very resource intensive and there is not much you can do about it either. With Linux, if you don't like how something is configured, you can change it. Linux in general also runs a lot faster and smoother than the current Windows. I have crashed every version of Windows from 3.11 to 10 many many times. I have yet to be able to actually crash Linux in the roughly twenty years of use. I have lagged the heck out of it many times though but it has always taken the abuse like a champ and recovered nicely.