You are Here:
Linux Lite 4.6 Final has been released. See the Release Announcements section for more information.



Using Java to run software

Author (Read 3436 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Using Java to run software
« on: June 05, 2014, 05:13:40 PM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
Hi
    Has anyone tried to to get a .jar file to run in Java .   
    OpenJDK 7 Runtime Environment is already loaded in Lite 2.

When I right click on the jar.jar file from a storage clipboard program called "KeepBoard" I get the option to open with "openJkd java 7 runtime"
When I click on it nothing appears to happen .

 It also has a "start.sh" file which does not work for me

I have downloaded it to win 7 and it runs OK from the "start.sh" file


I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 


Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2014, 05:40:34 PM »
 

Jerry

  • Linux Lite Creator
  • Administrator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 7013
    Posts
  • Country: nz
  • Reputation: 651
  • Linux Lite Member
    • Linux Lite OS

  • Linux Lite: 3.8 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Xeon Dual CPU's E5645 2.4GHz 12 Cores

  • MEMORY: 16Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: nVidia GeForce GTX 960
Try right clicking on the file/s and selecting 'Make executable'
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2014, 12:25:55 AM »
 

N4RPS

  • Donator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • **********
  • 1151
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 154
  • Knows JUST ENOUGH Linux to be DANGEROUS
    • Orphans for Christ, Self Advocates of Mecklenburg

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 64bit

  • CPU: Several Different 32-bit & 64-bit CPUs, 2-8 GB RAM

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Several Different AMD and Intel GPUs
Hello!

I was able to run JDiskReport after I installed Java through the 'Install Additional Software' menu.  JDiskReport generates a nice pie chart to show you how your hard disk is being utilized.

If anyone wants to install it and has a problem, I'll put together a tutorial...

73 DE N4RPS
Rob


A gun in your hand is worth more than a whole police force on the phone.
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2014, 05:39:23 PM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
Thanks for the replies

I have tried  JDiskReport as suggested and that works fine - It default is set to open using Java and runs OK.

The "start sh" file in Keepboard has the following script
_____________________________________________-

#!/bin/sh
DIR="$( cd "$( dirname "$0" )" && pwd )"
cd $DIR
java -jar jar.jar
______________________________________________-


Keepboard does appear to do something as it creates a "Pref" folder in the program folder there is a Pref file as shown below.
________________________________________________
<list>
  <item>
    <autosaveImages>false</autosaveImages>
    <autopasteKeyModifiers>2</autopasteKeyModifiers>
    <autopasteKeyCode>86</autopasteKeyCode>
    <autostart>false</autostart>
    <lookAndFeel>NIMBUS</lookAndFeel>
    <mainFrameWidth>430</mainFrameWidth>
    <mainFrameHeight>510</mainFrameHeight>
    <paused>false</paused>
    <itemPreviewHidden>false</itemPreviewHidden>
    <pasteMode>PASTE</pasteMode>
    <selectionMode>MOVE_TO_TOP</selectionMode>
    <showNameSearchColumn>false</showNameSearchColumn>
    <showGroupSearchColumn>false</showGroupSearchColumn>
    <tabsHidden>false</tabsHidden>
    <buttonsHidden>false</buttonsHidden>
    <groupComboBoxHidden>false</groupComboBoxHidden>
    <toolbarHidden>false</toolbarHidden>
    <trayIconHidden>false</trayIconHidden>
    <allGroupsManuallyDeleted>false</allGroupsManuallyDeleted>
    <dividerLocation>287</dividerLocation>
    <previewAreaPosition>BOTTOM</previewAreaPosition>
    <clipboardHistoryPreviewDialogLineWrap>false</clipboardHistoryPreviewDialogLineWrap>
    <namedItemsPreviewDialogLineWrap>false</namedItemsPreviewDialogLineWrap>
    <previewAreaLineWrap>false</previewAreaLineWrap>
    <clipboardHistoryPreviewDialogWidth>600</clipboardHistoryPreviewDialogWidth>
    <clipboardHistoryPreviewDialogHeight>400</clipboardHistoryPreviewDialogHeight>
    <namedItemsPreviewDialogWidth>600</namedItemsPreviewDialogWidth>
    <namedItemsPreviewDialogHeight>400</namedItemsPreviewDialogHeight>
    <maxHistorySize>2000</maxHistorySize>
    <autopaste>false</autopaste>
  </item>
</list>
__________________________________________________________________

Colin
I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2014, 06:07:01 PM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
Hello
Forgot to say i tried making it executable or run as administrator

I just get the "Pref" folder generated but no error messages . In Windows a gui window appears

If anyone would like  to try it out, this is the download link

http://sourceforge.net/projects/keepboard/files/Keepboard_Linux_4.2.zip/download

Colin


I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2014, 06:11:44 PM »
 

Jerry

  • Linux Lite Creator
  • Administrator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 7013
    Posts
  • Country: nz
  • Reputation: 651
  • Linux Lite Member
    • Linux Lite OS

  • Linux Lite: 3.8 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Xeon Dual CPU's E5645 2.4GHz 12 Cores

  • MEMORY: 16Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: nVidia GeForce GTX 960
Works here, all I did was download it, double click on it and it appeared in my tray. Then I just right clicked on it and chose 'Show Keepboard'

You could try clipman:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install xfce4-clipman-plugin
then just add it to the panel.
Last Edit: June 06, 2014, 06:14:03 PM by Valtam
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2014, 04:10:03 AM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
Thanks for trying it for me  . why does it work for you but not me !
In spite of the problems I have had I find Linux Lite worked well out of the box . I hope more people find it and use it . Keep up the good work

The more I find out about computers the less I know ?

If only all PC's behaved exactly the same it would make the work of developers much easier . The downside  would be there was less to interest them .

Colin
I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2014, 05:09:26 PM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
Hello

Tried Clipman as  you suggested - It works OK but is not quite what I wanted . I used Classic Clipboard in XP in which I could store clips that I used frequently like my email address etc . I tried using it via Wine but it locks up . I was looking for something similar

I am using the following -- is this the same as you ran Keepboard successfully with .

colin@colin-NC110:~$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_55"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.4.7) (7u55-2.4.7-1ubuntu1)
OpenJDK Server VM (build 24.51-b03, mixed mode)

Colin



I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2014, 04:21:01 PM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
Re  Keepboard not running in Java Runtime Environment

I managed to get it to work by re-installing Java in Lite 2 Beta

I did  new  Install of   Lite 2 Final and Keepboard stopped working again

I uninstalled Java and tried to re-install it with Synaptic and had problems with Broken Links etc

Also when I right clicked the JAR.JAR file it showed the default  was JRE and available  even though there was no Java showing correctly with  the terminal command -  java -version

I Closed Linux and opened it again
I used Synaptic to Install "Default Java JRK "which included  a full list of dependencies  after which when I opened Keepboard it appeared on the "Panel" and works OK

Colin
I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2014, 04:42:37 PM »
 

Jerry

  • Linux Lite Creator
  • Administrator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • *****
  • 7013
    Posts
  • Country: nz
  • Reputation: 651
  • Linux Lite Member
    • Linux Lite OS

  • Linux Lite: 3.8 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Xeon Dual CPU's E5645 2.4GHz 12 Cores

  • MEMORY: 16Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: nVidia GeForce GTX 960
Glad it's working for you :)
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2014, 06:19:13 PM »
 

N4RPS

  • Donator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • **********
  • 1151
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 154
  • Knows JUST ENOUGH Linux to be DANGEROUS
    • Orphans for Christ, Self Advocates of Mecklenburg

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 64bit

  • CPU: Several Different 32-bit & 64-bit CPUs, 2-8 GB RAM

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: Several Different AMD and Intel GPUs
Hello!

Congrats, Colin. I'm glad you were able to work this one out. Now the next person has an idea about what to do - IF they bother to search the forums.

As for myself, I'm pretty much clueless about Java, and it's next to impossible to create the exact conditions needed to help someone with problems like these...

73 DE N4RPS
Rob


A gun in your hand is worth more than a whole police force on the phone.
 

Re: Using Java to run software
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2014, 12:21:52 PM »
 

Colin23erk

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • 212
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Reputation: 13
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 2.6 32bit

  • MEMORY: 256mb
I have just installed Lite 2 on a different Netbook and could not get Keepboard to work again using the installed  OpenJRE ( I suspect it might be the Java Common app is wrong )

I uninstalled Java using Synaptic
 I used Synaptic to Install "Default Java JRK "which included  a full list of dependencies  after which when I opened Keepboard  "K" appeared on the "Panel" and works OK
 
To make it open automatically on Startup I put an entry in
Menu /Settings / Session and Startup / Application Autostart / Add / Name -Keepboard and Browse to where you located the Keepboard app and select the START SH file

"K" appears on Panel  at I used Synaptic to Install "Default Java JRK "which included  a full list of dependencies  after which when I opened Keepboard it appeared on the "Panel" and works OK

Colin
 
I Learn something new Every Day !
An "example" is worth a 1000 words
 


Tags:
 


Linux Lite 4.6 Final has been released. See the Release Announcements section for more information.