You are Here:
Download Linux Lite 5.4 Final today - See Release Announcements



X Close Ad
X Close Ad
[ ABANDONED ] System freeze-up

Author (Read 2306 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

System freeze-up
« on: April 26, 2021, 10:46:02 AM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
I just recently installed the latest (?) version of Lite and have had a problem of the system freezing up completely. 

May be related to Firefox, not sure.  Sometimes when I click a button and sometimes just out of the blue, (usually while on Firefox) the system will freeze.  Cursor freezes, and nothing works.  I have waited in the hopes it will un-freeze but it doesn't.  The only way I can fix it is to re-boot.

Any ideas?
Last Edit: May 15, 2021, 03:10:40 PM by lintek
 


Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2021, 12:26:42 PM »
 

Moltke

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 981
    Posts
  • Country: ve
  • Reputation: 110
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.0 64bit

  • CPU: amd athlon 64 x2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: amd radeon hd 6750

  • Kernel: 5.x
I just recently installed the latest (?) version of Lite and have had a problem of the system freezing up completely. 

May be related to Firefox, not sure.  Sometimes when I click a button and sometimes just out of the blue, (usually while on Firefox) the system will freeze.  Cursor freezes, and nothing works.  I have waited in the hopes it will un-freeze but it doesn't.  The only way I can fix it is to re-boot.

Any ideas?

What FF version? While not exactly a solution, you may try launching FF from the terminal and check for any errors, thus to confirm whether is indeed FF's to blame, then you can copy/paste those errors here. 
Without each others help there ain't no hope for us :)
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2021, 12:32:18 PM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
How do I launch FF from terminal?  I have never done that before.

Thanks
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2021, 04:04:02 PM »
 

bonnevie

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 82
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Reputation: 14
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 4.8 64bit

  • CPU: AMD Sempron Single-Core

  • MEMORY: 3Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: NVidia GEForce 8200G

  • Kernel: 4.x
Hello lintek,
in terminal, just type firefox then hit your enter key.
1) Compaq-Presario-CQ60-Notebook (2008) AMD-Sempron
2) ThinkPad E540 LL4.8 64 bit Host, VM LL5.4 guest
Intel i3 QuadCore 12GB RAM
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2021, 08:49:53 PM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
 :011: ok thanks

(sometimes I feel SO dumb...)
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2021, 12:11:55 AM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
RESULTS

Code: [Select]
IPDL protocol error: Handler returned error code!

###!!! [Parent][DispatchAsyncMessage] Error: PLayerTransaction::Msg_ReleaseLayer Processing error: message was deserialized, but the handler returned false (indicating failure)
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2021, 10:17:21 AM »
 

Moltke

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 981
    Posts
  • Country: ve
  • Reputation: 110
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.0 64bit

  • CPU: amd athlon 64 x2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: amd radeon hd 6750

  • Kernel: 5.x
RESULTS

Code: [Select]
IPDL protocol error: Handler returned error code!

###!!! [Parent][DispatchAsyncMessage] Error: PLayerTransaction::Msg_ReleaseLayer Processing error: message was deserialized, but the handler returned false (indicating failure)

Well, one thing I can tell you is that you're not alone with this issue, a web search on IPDL protocol error: Handler returned error code! returns result on FF, most of them https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=IPDL+protocol+error%3A+Handler+returned+error+code%21
One thing you can try to troubleshoot and narrow down the issue, is download Firefox https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/#product-desktop-release
Once you do:
1. Extract the contents of the .tar.gz file, this will result in a folder named firefox
2. Open the firefox folder and locate firefox and firefox-bin files, select each at a time, hit left Alt + Enter, this will open the properties' dialog, check the box that reads make this file executable or some similar wording.
3. Right-click in a blank space within the firefox folder and from the context menu select open terminal here
4. In the terminal type
Code: [Select]
./firefox and hit Enter to launch the browser, check if you get any errors this time, if you do, then there might be something wrong with your xfce4-session. If you don't, that is, no freezes and FF behaves as expected, then the FF's version installed might be corrupted or something.

EDIT: I just thought of another way:
1. Before downloading FF, open thunar, the file manager.
2. Hit Ctrl + h to show the hidden files.
3. Locate the .mozilla folder.
4. Select it and rename it to something like .mozilla.old
5. Launch Firefox from terminal.
What this will do is launch FF anew; no profile, and will create a new .mozilla folder. So, in theory, if something's wrong with your FF's profile, you shouldn't get any errors. In short, this procedure is to check that your FF's profile isn't corrupted or something, and if you don't get any errors, you could delete .mozilla.old. If you do get the same behavior, the download FF and proceed as explained above.
Last Edit: April 27, 2021, 10:33:32 AM by Moltke
Without each others help there ain't no hope for us :)
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2021, 11:00:21 AM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
EDIT: I just thought of another way:
1. Before downloading FF, open thunar, the file manager.
2. Hit Ctrl + h to show the hidden files.
3. Locate the .mozilla folder.
4. Select it and rename it to something like .mozilla.old
5. Launch Firefox from terminal.
What this will do is launch FF anew; no profile, and will create a new .mozilla folder. So, in theory, if something's wrong with your FF's profile, you shouldn't get any errors. In short, this procedure is to check that your FF's profile isn't corrupted or something, and if you don't get any errors, you could delete .mozilla.old. If you do get the same behavior, the download FF and proceed as explained above.

I finally had time to try this (1-5, that is).  I thought it had worked but after a bit the system froze again.  And I am not sure if it is Firefox or not.  When it happens it is usually associated with a mouse click or movement.  All of a sudden it just freezes.

IT'S MADDENING... :banghead
Last Edit: May 04, 2021, 05:45:38 PM by lintek
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2021, 05:57:53 PM »
 

Moltke

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 981
    Posts
  • Country: ve
  • Reputation: 110
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.0 64bit

  • CPU: amd athlon 64 x2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: amd radeon hd 6750

  • Kernel: 5.x
EDIT: I just thought of another way:
1. Before downloading FF, open thunar, the file manager.
2. Hit Ctrl + h to show the hidden files.
3. Locate the .mozilla folder.
4. Select it and rename it to something like .mozilla.old
5. Launch Firefox from terminal.
What this will do is launch FF anew; no profile, and will create a new .mozilla folder. So, in theory, if something's wrong with your FF's profile, you shouldn't get any errors. In short, this procedure is to check that your FF's profile isn't corrupted or something, and if you don't get any errors, you could delete .mozilla.old. If you do get the same behavior, the download FF and proceed as explained above.

I finally had time to try this (1-5, that is).  I thought it had worked but after a bit the system froze again.  And I am not sure if it is Firefox or not.  When it happens it is usually associated with a mouse click or movement.  All of a sudden it just freezes.

IT'S MADDENING... :banghead

Did you get any errors in the terminal? You might try my other suggestion on downloading FF from its website, extract and run, and I suggest that you rename the .mozilla folder before doing it, to avoid it gets corrupted(it shouldn't happen, but just in case) and by doing so and launching a fresh FF session, might be better to troubleshoot. All of this is to try and narrow down the problem to discover the possible root of the cause.
Last Edit: May 04, 2021, 06:04:54 PM by Moltke
Without each others help there ain't no hope for us :)
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2021, 08:58:59 PM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
I didn't get any errors in the terminal so I closed it and deleted mozilla.old and started Firefox from the taskbar like usual.  Soon after that it froze.  But... like I said - I am not sure if it is the fault of FF - I am just assuming it might be.  It also might NOT be...?
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2021, 08:31:19 AM »
 

Moltke

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 981
    Posts
  • Country: ve
  • Reputation: 110
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.0 64bit

  • CPU: amd athlon 64 x2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: amd radeon hd 6750

  • Kernel: 5.x
I didn't get any errors in the terminal so I closed it and deleted mozilla.old and started Firefox from the taskbar like usual.  Soon after that it froze.  But... like I said - I am not sure if it is the fault of FF - I am just assuming it might be.  It also might NOT be...?
I see. Sure, it can be a number of things other than FF, but since you mentioned it, it's a good starting point. That's why I suggested you to download it, to try and see whether it is the installed version the culprit. If it's not, then you can start looking somewhere else, and we can help you do that. :)
Without each others help there ain't no hope for us :)
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2021, 07:45:35 PM »
 

j8a

  • New to Forums
  • *
  • 31
    Posts
  • Country: ar
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.4 64bit

  • CPU: AMD FX-8320E Buldozer

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]

  • Kernel: 5.x
Hi @lintek ,
As a regular FF user on LL, I guess you have tried to purge the history on FF and also run Lite Tweaks and remove the FF cache.
I could suggest to give a try in order to see whether it solves your problem.
Regards
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2021, 09:00:29 PM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
Hi @lintek ,
As a regular FF user on LL, I guess you have tried to purge the history on FF and also run Lite Tweaks and remove the FF cache.
I could suggest to give a try in order to see whether it solves your problem.
Regards

Thanks for the advice - I am not really a regular user AND I am a true novice at Linux, even though I've been using it for a while...  ;D
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2021, 11:23:57 AM »
 

lintek

  • Occasional Poster
  • **
  • 85
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 2
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.2 64bit

  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz

  • MEMORY: 8Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: EVGA GT710

  • Kernel: 5.x
Well... I don't think it is Firefox anymore.

I decided to try using it without using Firefox.  After a couple minutes, it froze up.

Maybe Jerry has an idea?  Maybe it is just a bad install?  I just don't get it...  :012:
 

Re: System freeze-up
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2021, 02:33:35 PM »
 

Moltke

  • Gold Level Poster
  • *******
  • 981
    Posts
  • Country: ve
  • Reputation: 110
  • Linux Lite Member

  • Linux Lite: 5.0 64bit

  • CPU: amd athlon 64 x2

  • MEMORY: 4Gb

  • VIDEO CARD: amd radeon hd 6750

  • Kernel: 5.x
Open the terminal and run this
Code: [Select]
sudo journalctl priority err --since "10 min ago"
You can replace "10 min ago" if you want by another time, i.e. "20 min ago", and look for any error messages in the output, you can also copy/paste the output here in your reply. If you get
Code: [Select]
-- no entries try running it without the "--since "10 min ago"". For more info run
Code: [Select]
man journalctl
Without each others help there ain't no hope for us :)
 


Tags:
 

X Close Ad
X Close Ad

Download Linux Lite 5.4 Final today - See Release Announcements