You are Here:
Linux Lite 6.6 FINAL Released - Support for 22 Languages Added - See Release Announcement Section

Newbee questions before installation… will it work on my Notebook?

Author (Read 4638 times)

Re: Newbee questions before installation… will it work on my Notebook?
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2020, 11:56:00 AM »

az2020

• New to Forums
    • View Profile

• CPU: Ryzen 3 3200u

• MEMORY: 32Gb

• VIDEO CARD: Radeon Vega 3

• Kernel: 5.x
But the worst is, before I switched to LL I saved all my data to two external HDs, one is NTFS-formatted, the other exFAT.

I'm new to LL, and don't know if it doesn't read those formats. Or, whether it's a matter of you not knowing how to mount them(?). I'm not very proficient with these things. But, I would open a command-line window an type "sudo fdisk -l" . Hopefully you'll see them there as /dev/sdb1 (or sdc1, etc.).

If you see them, the next step would be to mount them.

If the formats aren't readable in LL, I would be looking at the "system rescue" bootable ISOs that are available. (Even "clonezilla." That's a bootable ISO which lets you clone a disk or partition and recognizes various formats. You can get into a shell and access external drives like you can from any booted Linux environment.).

Stay at it. These initial gothcas can be discouraging. But, it's worth it to work through it and be able to run Linux as an alternative to Windows. (I did it late 2014, a few months before Win 10's release. I was hearing how Windows was going to change. I got out then. It can be extremely frustrating. But, it's worth it to get to the other side.).

« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2020, 11:35:11 PM »

Jerry

• Linux Lite Creator
  • Administrator
  • Platinum Level Poster
  • Linux Lite Member
    • View Profile
    • Linux Lite OS

• CPU: Intel Core i9-10850K CPU @ 3.60GHz

• VIDEO CARD: nVidia GeForce GTX 1650

exfat is supported in Kernel 5.4 I think.

Sent from my Mi Max using Tapatalk