Hi, have installed on a laptop to try.....I always change my repository settings...easily done, but apparently not :-[ always a first time
Synaptic Package Manager>>>Settings>>>Repositories......nothing, cursor goes round for a few seconds then that's it. I've done the google is your friend and even RTFM...first for me

but I can't find a fix.
Thanks.
Have you tried the Package System Repair in Lite Tweaks (Menu, System, Lite Tweaks)?
(04-20-2017, 06:34 PM)torreydale link Wrote: [ -> ]Have you tried the Package System Repair in Lite Tweaks (Menu, System, Lite Tweaks)?
No I hadn't...so I did....but no joy....worst case scenario is a reinstall, but it took me while to setup samba the way I use it for home use...got it sorted....the only option would be to back up the smb conf then copy that to a clean install.
Hold on please! The beauty in Linux comes also from its packaging structure.
First, let's figure few things out since we do not have any logs from your system:
1- Is your system up-to-date?
2- Can you open
Menu => type
software & and open Software and Updates? (I think that's what you are looking for)
3- If Software and Updates window opens, then it may just be a problem with your synaptic installation. Perhaps reinstalling Synaptic is all you need:
Code:
sudo apt remove --purge synaptic -y
sudo apt autoclean -y && sudo apt autoremove -y
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade -y && sudo apt install synaptic -y
If Software and Updates doesn't pop up then the issue may be related to it and not to Synaptic. You can test whether it launches from Terminal also:
Code:
software-properties-gtk
(04-20-2017, 08:14 PM)ralphy link Wrote: [ -> ]Hold on please! The beauty in Linux comes also from its packaging structure.
First, let's figure few things out since we do not have any logs from your system:
1- Is your system up-to-date?
2- Can you open Menu => type software & and open Software and Updates? (I think that's what you are looking for)
![[Image: Qka9BIh.png]](http://i.imgur.com/Qka9BIh.png)
3- If Software and Updates window opens, then it may just be a problem with your synaptic installation. Perhaps reinstalling Synaptic is all you need:
Code:
sudo apt remove --purge synaptic -y
sudo apt autoclean -y && sudo apt autoremove -y
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade -y && sudo apt install synaptic -y
If Software and Updates doesn't pop up then the issue may be related to it and not to Synaptic. You can test whether it launches from Terminal also:
Code:
software-properties-gtk
No Software and Updates doesn't open....
Output from software-properties-gtk
/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/softwareproperties/gtk/SoftwarePropertiesGtk.py:40: PyGIWarning: Gdk was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('Gdk', '3.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
from gi.repository import GObject, Gdk, Gtk, Gio, GLib
/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/softwareproperties/gtk/SoftwarePropertiesGtk.py:40: PyGIWarning: Gtk was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('Gtk', '3.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
from gi.repository import GObject, Gdk, Gtk, Gio, GLib
Segmentation fault
so does mean I've done something without realising :-[
Here, in Terminal:
Code:
sudo aptitude reinstall apt apt-utils aptdaemon aptdaemon-data update-manager update-manager-core dbus
And reboot your computer... let us know

(04-20-2017, 08:48 PM)ralphy link Wrote: [ -> ]Here, in Terminal:
Code:
sudo aptitude reinstall apt apt-utils aptdaemon aptdaemon-data update-manager update-manager-core dbus
And reboot your computer... let us know 
Output;
update-manager is not currently installed, so it will not be reinstalled.
update-manager is not currently installed, so it will not be reinstalled.
The following packages will be REINSTALLED:
apt apt-utils aptdaemon aptdaemon-data dbus update-manager-core
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 6 reinstalled, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
Need to get 1,385 kB of archives. After unpacking 0 B will be used.
E: Can't find a source to download version '1.1.1+bzr982-0ubuntu14' of 'aptdaemon:amd64'
E: Can't find a source to download version '1.1.1+bzr982-0ubuntu14' of 'aptdaemon:amd64'
E: Internal error: couldn't generate list of packages to download
There you have hit the issue. Now we have an idea about what's going on... you cannot update your system and it is likely you've installed something that broke it.
Can you please post the output of:
Code:
cat /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*.list
My bad. I meant:
Code:
cat /etc/apt/sources.list
Don't give up we are almost there
